AssessmentInstructional TechnologyPedagogyProfessional/Faculty DevelopmentStatisticsUnderstanding our Students
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Library Resources for Faculty Teaching Online Courses  Tags: distance_learning webct online faculty mcc_online  

This guide describes the library resources available to MCC faculty who teach online courses.
Last update: Sep 23rd, 2009 URL: http://mc.maricopa.libguides.com/online  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Integrating library resources into your CMS             Print Page
  
 

Overview

This page describes how faculty can integrate library resources, such as electronic databases, e journals, and e-books into WebCT.

 

Linking to Databases

You may provide direct links in WebCT to our electronic databases, such as Academic Search Premier, PsychInfo, or Business Source Premier. This will allow students to go into our databases and perform searches. When a student clicks on the link from off campus they will be prompted to enter their MCC email address/password to access the database.

1. First determine which electronic databases you would like to link to from our list of databases.

2. Then right click on the name of the database and then select "copy shortcut"

3. Once in WebCT, right click and paste the link where you want it to go. This will establish a persistent link to the database. If a student clicks on the database off campus they will first be prompted for their MY MCC username/password (allowing authentication).

4. For other course management systems, please contact Ann Tolzman directly for assistance.

 

Linking to E journals

1. First you will need to identify the journal(s) that you would like to link to. Go to http://vg8fj9fb9c.search.serialssolutions.com/.

2. If you have a specific title in mind type the name of the journal in the "Find Periodical by Title or ISBN" box. Or if you want to see what journals we have available in a specific subject, use the "Browse Periodicals by Subject" dropdown box.

3. For example, let's say you would like to create a persistent link to the journal "Food Biotechnology". You do a title search and the following information comes up:

Food biotechnology (0890-5436) from 03/01/2001 to 1 year ago

in Academic Search Premier

this means we have an online subscription to the journal through Academic Search Premier. Click on the Academic Search Premier link to continue.

If the results look like this:

American Legion (0886-1234)

in Elsner Library print subscriptions

it means that the journal is only available in print, you will not be able to link to any online articles.

4. So back to our search with Food Biotechnology. In the previous step you clicked on the link to Academic Search Premier. This will bring up the homepage for the journal in Academic Search Premier:

Where it says:

This is the persistent link for the journal. Click in the box and copy the entire URL.

5. Paste this URL into WebCT. Students will now be able to go directly to the homepage of this journal and either browse tables of contents or do a keyword search in the journal. If students are off campus they will first have to enter their MY MCC username/password to gain access.

6. This procedure will work for all titles we have access through Ebsco (including Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, CINAHL, Business Source Premier, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Professional Development, Military and Government Collection, Vocational and Career Collection, Health Source, Medline).

7. If the journal you would like to link to does not come from any of the sources listed above, please contact Ann Tolzman directly for assistance.

 

Linking to a specific article

Steps for persistent linking depend on the database vendor (i.e. Ebsco, Gale, etc)

For EBSCO articles (Academic Search Premier, MasterFile Premier, CINAHL, Business Source Premier, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Professional Development, Military and Government Collection, Vocational and Career Collection, Health Source)

1. Go into the citation for the article, for example:

Title:
Travel companies turn to 'tweets'
Authors:
Rebecca Heslin
Source:
USA Today; 02/03/2009
ISSN:
07347456
Accession Number:
J0E134727003009
Persistent link to this record (Permalink):

2. Then click inside of the persistent link to this record box. Copy and paste the whole URL into WebCT. This will allow students to access the article once they have authenticated (if off campus) using their MCC username/password.

For Gale articles (Academic One File, General One File)

1. Go into the citation for the article, for example:

TITLE: DriveCam Supports National Ban on Texting While Driving

PUB: Biotech Week

DETAIL: (Sept 16, 2009): p2729. (458 words)


2. To view the full text of the article, click on "full text" or on the title of the article.

3. In the "Tools" box on the right hand side, click "Bookmark" and then copy the URL

3. Paste the whole URL into WebCT.

4. Then copy and paste this URL: https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url=  in front of the step 3 URL.  You will have a super long URL that will look similar to this:

https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gtx/infomark.do?contentSet=IAC-Documents&docType=IAC&type=retrieve&tabID=T004&prodId=AONE&docId=A207566331&userGroupName=mcc_mesa&version=1.0&searchType=BasicSearchForm&source=gale&infoPage=infoMarkPage

This will allow students to access the article once they have authenticated (if they are off campus) using their MCC email username/password.

For ProQuest articles (National News, Ethnic NewsWatch)

1. Find the article or citation you wish to link to directly


 

2. To view the full text of the article, click on "full text" or on the title of the article.

3. To create a permanent link, click on the "Copy Link" link and paste into WebCT (or other document).



For all other databases please contact Ann Tolzman directly.

 

Linking to an ebook in ebrary

1. To provide a link to our entire e book collection (Ebrary) copy and paste this link into WebCT: https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/mesa

2. However you can also link directly to a specific e book or book.

3. First identify the book or books you would like to link to inside of Ebrary.

4. Open a browser window to the title's homepage in Ebrary.

5. To locate the URL, click on the "ebrary Reader" box. You may be prompted to download the ebrary software.


 

 

6. Copy and paste the URL that appears in the title bar. For example, the book "Barrio Dreams" has the following URL: http://site.ebrary.com/lib/mesa/edf.action?p00=latino%20culture%20%20south%20america%20%20united%20states&docID=10068580

7. This URL is not persistent in and of itself. You must add the following in front of the URL: https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url=

8. So the entire URL you will need to put into WebCT will be the following:

https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/mesa/edf.action?p00=latino%20culture%20%20south%20america%20%20united%20states&docID=10068580

9. So to recap, for each e book you want to persistently link to, combine https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url= with the URL that appears when you open the ebook. Just using the URL that appears when you open the book will not result in a persistent link. You must include the https://login.ezp.mc.maricopa.edu/login?url= in front of it.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait