How to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to Cite MAGAZINES/JOURNALSHow to Cite NEWSPAPERS from DatabasesHow to Cite WEBSITES
Shortened URLs for Subscription Databases
Citation rules with examples
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MLA Citation Guide, 7th edition  Tags: modern_language_association writing citation mla works_cited references bibliography  

A guide on how to use the MLA (Modern Language Association) citation style 7th edition
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://mc.maricopa.libguides.com/mla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

In-Text Citations            Print Page
  
 

MLA Parenthetical Citation

In the text of your paper you acknowledge the sources you used with a brief parenthetical citation that refers to an alphabetical Works Cited list at the end of the paper. The brief citation should include just enough information for a reader to find the full citation in the list as well as a page number, if appropriate. For example, if you are citing a fact found on page 359 of Up from History by Robert J. Norrell, the brief citation might be (Norrell 359); it might be (Norrell Up 359) if your list contains two books by Norrell.

 

Avoiding Plagiarism

Plagiarism is using the words, thoughts, or ideas of someone else without giving credit. Plagiarism can take many forms, and it can be intentional or accidental.

Resources about plagiarism:

 

Mesa Community College Plagiarism Policy

Plagiarism is taken very seriously at MCC. Please be sure to read this policy found in the MCC code of conduct. If you are not sure whether what you are doing is violating this policy ask us!

2.3.11 Academic Misconduct

  1. Definitions
    1. Academic Misconduct - includes misconduct associated with the classroom, laboratory or clinical learning process. Examples of academic misconduct include, but are not limited to, cheating, plagiarism, excessive absences, use of abusive or profane language, and disruptive and/or threatening behavior.
    2. Cheating - includes, but is not limited to, (a) use of any unauthorized assistance in taking quizzes, tests, assessment tests or examinations; (b) dependence upon the aid of sources beyond those authorized by the faculty member in writing papers, preparing reports, solving problems, or carrying out other assignments; or (c) the acquisition, without permission, of tests or other academic material belonging to a member of the college faculty or staff.
    3. Plagiarism - includes, but is not limited to, the use of paraphrase or direct quotation of the published or unpublished work of another person without full and clear acknowledgment. It also includes the unacknowledged use of materials prepared by another person or agency engaged in the selling of term papers or other academic materials. Information gathered from the internet and not properly identified is also considered plagiarism.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait