How to Cite ENCYCLOPEDIASHow to Cite MAGAZINES/JOURNALSHow to Cite NEWSPAPERS from DatabasesHow to Cite WEBSITES
Shortened URLs for Subscription Databases
Citation rules with examples
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

MLA Citation Guide, 7th edition  Tags: modern_language_association writing citation mla works_cited references bibliography  

A guide on how to use the MLA (Modern Language Association) citation style 7th edition
Last update: Oct 05th, 2009 URL: http://mc.maricopa.libguides.com/mla  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Shortened URLs for Subscription Databases            Print Page
  
 

URLs for Databases (selective)

Shortened URLs for Subscription Databases

In APA style, when citing an article from a subscription database (not freely available on the Internet):

  • Do not cite the exact URL (persistent link or Uniform Resource Locator or Internet address) of the article in APA
  • Shorten the database URL
  • URLs are surrounded by angle brackets < >
  • If you need to break a URL in your works cited list, do so at a mark such a a slash, dash, or period
  • Finish your citation with a period.

If you are off-campus, it may be hard to determine the exact URL for a database because you are using a proxy server. Here are the shortened URLs to use for articles from our most popular subscription databases:

EBSCOhost -- all EBSCOhost databases use the same URL

    http://search.ebscohost.com

CQ Researcher

http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher

Ebrary (ebooks)

http://site.ebrary.com/lib/gatewaylibrary/

Nursing Journals @ OVID (Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins Collection)

http://gateway.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=ovft

ProQuest National Newspapers Core

    http://proquest.umi.com/login

SIRS Knowledge Source

http://sks.sirs.com

 

Your Librarian

Profile ImageZoe Luter
Contact Info:
Phone: 480-461-7286
Office: LB215
Send Email

Subjects:
Art, Communication, Theatre, Psychology & Reading

Jane Mente

Profile ImageJane Mente
Contact Info:
AS 122
480-461-7694
Send Email

Subjects:
English, Mortuary Science, Design, Culinary Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait