MLA Style Print Sources
|
Books |
Example |
|
One author (MLA 5.5.2) |
Fairbanks, Carol. Prairie Women: Images in American and Canadian Fiction. New Haven: Yale UP, 1986. Print. |
|
Two or three authors (MLA 5.5.4) |
Davidson, William R., Daniel J. Sweeney, and Ronald W. Stampfl. Retailing Management. 6th ed. New York: Wiley, 1988. Print. |
|
More than three authors (MLA 5.5.4) |
Gilman, Sander, et al. Hysteria beyond Freud. Berkeley: U of California P, 1993. Print. |
|
Anonymous book (MLA 5.5.9) |
New York Public Library American History Desk Reference. New York: Macmillan, 1997. Print. |
|
Anthology or compilation (MLA 5.5.3) |
Feldman, Paula R., ed. British Women Poets of the Romantic Era. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins UP, 1997. Print. |
|
Work in an anthology (MLA 5.5.6) |
Shutte, Nancy, and Laura Tangley. "Problem Drinkers Can Learn Moderation." Addiction: Opposing Viewpoints. Ed. Jennifer A. Hurley. San Diego: Greenhaven, 2000. 93-100. Print. |
|
Articles |
Example |
|
Magazine articles (MLA 5.4.6) (Abbreviate all months except May, June and July.) |
(The first article below is from a weekly magazine; the second is from a monthly magazine.) Mathews, Jay. "How to Build a Better High School." Newsweek 16 May 2005: 52-57. Print. Wright, Karen. "The First Earthlings." Discover Mar. 2003: 24-25. Print. |
|
Journal article (MLA 5.4.2) |
(There is no distinction made between journals with continuous paging and those with issues paged separately.) Cnattingius, Sven, et al. "Pregnancy Characteristics and Maternal Risk of Brest Cancer." JAMA 294.19 (2005):2474-2480. Print. Albada, Kelly Fudge. "The Public and Private Dialogue about the American Family on Television." Journal of Communication 50.4 (2000): 79-110. Print. |
|
Encyclopedia article (MLA 5.5.7) |
(Do not cite the editor of the encyclopedia.) "Civil Disobedience." The Encyclopedia Americana. 2004 ed. Print. Mohanty, Jitendra N. "Indian Philosophy." The New Encyclopedia Britannica: Macropaedia. 15th ed. 1998. Print. |
|
Newspaper article (MLA 5.4.5) |
Harris, Nicole. “Airports in the Throes of Change.” Wall Street Journal 27 Mar. 2002: B1+. Print. “Elections Could Change the Game for Contractors.” Washington Post 15 Sep. 2008: D2. Print. |
MLA Style - Electronic Sources
|
Electronic Source |
Example |
|
Online book (MLA 5.6.2c) |
Ambler, Tim, and Morgen Witzel. Doing Business in China. London: Routledge, 2000. ebrary. Web. 17 Jan. 2009. |
|
Magazine article from a subscription service (MLA 5.6.4) |
Kluger, Jeffrey. “Dr. Sigmund Doolittle.” Discover Feb. 1996: 84+. Academic OneFile. Web. 1 Apr. 2009. |
|
Journal article from a subscription service (MLA 5.6.4) |
Lappan, Glenda. “Revitalizing and Refocusing Our Efforts.” Journal for Research in Mathematics Education 30.5 (1999): 568-78. OmniFile. Web. 8 Feb. 2009 . Thompson, Michael D., and Robert O. Riggs. “Institutional Expenditure Patterns and the Facilitation of Mission.” Community College Review 27.4 (2000): 1+ . Academic Search Premier. Web. 12 Feb. 2009. |
|
Newspaper article from a subscription service (MLA 5.9.4) |
Olson, Elizabeth. "Something New: A 4-Year Degree at a 2-Year College.” New York Times 14 Dec. 2005, late ed.: B8+. National Newspapers. Web. 6 Mar. 2009. |
|
Encyclopedia article or work in anthology from a subscription service (MLA 5.6.2c) |
Howard, Lillie. “Zora Neale Hurston.” Dictionary of Literary Biography: Afro-American Writers from the Harlem Renaissance to 1940. Ed. Trudier Harris. Detroit: Gale, 1987. Literature Resource Center. Web. 26 Jan. 2009. |
|
Website (MLA 5.6.2b) |
Bio. A&E Television Networks, 2009. Web. 10 Apr. 2009. |
|
Article on website (MLA 5.9.1) |
Musinsky, Gerald. “Animal Spirits.” Encyclopedia Mythica, 2006. Web. 18 Mar. 2009. |
MLA Style - Non-print Sources
|
Nonprint Source |
Example |
|
Interview (MLA 5.7.7) |
Prince, Linda. Personal interview. 24 Dec. 2005. |
|
Videotape or DVD (MLA 5.7.3) |
Bioterror. Dir. Kirk Wolfinger. WGBH Boston Video, 2002.Videocassette. |
Formatting the Works Cited Page
Information on formatting the Works Cited list is found primarily in sections 5.3.2 and 5.3.3 of the handbook.
· Start the list on a new page with the page number in the upper right-hand corner, .5” from the top, flush with the right margin.
· Center the title (Works Cited) 1” from the top of the page.
· Double-space the entire list, including between the title and first entry.
· Start
the first line of each entry flush with the left margin, and indent
subsequent lines of the entry .5” from the left margin.
· Use the abbreviations listed in section 7 of the handbook where appropriate
· Sort the entries in alphabetical order (see 5.3.3 for details).
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait